i’m officially a camp nano winner!

Although I didn’t think I was going to make it, I actually did it! I wrote twenty thousand words in July, completing my goal for Camp NaNoWriMo.

I’m so proud of myself. This is the most I’ve written in years and the first time I’ve ever completed NaNo. I still have a lot of writing to do until this book is finished but I’m actually feeling motivated to keep writing and it’s such a strange feeling. I’m so used to wanting to write but not being able to. A lot of credit goes to my friend Dominica who has spent the entire month doing writing sprints with me and being this books number one fan. Without her, I probably would have given up weeks ago.

Of course, the book I’m working on isn’t done like I hoped it would be because the story kind of got away from me. But I’m going to try to keep working on it. Hopefully I’ll have it done before November so I can participate in NaNoWriMo.

Until then, here are some of the scenes I enjoyed writing. Keep in mind this is from the rough draft.

ONE

Tilly threw her head back and drained the last drop of whisky from her glass, wincing at the burn of it sliding down her throat. The glass sang as she slammed it on the coffee table but she didn’t even hesitate as she reached for the bottle and refilled her glass.

Just as it reached her parted lips, she stopped and said, “And the worst part about it is that she thought I would want to be there. After what she did to me. Like two years is enough time for me to magically become okay with the fact that she slept with Jas. He was my goddamn fiance!”

“You wanna know what I think is the worst part?” Her best friend, Kat, asked, blue eyes wide and shiny in the dim light of the living room. She pointed at Tilly using the same hand that held her own glass full of Jack Daniels.  “The fact that she’s marrying his little brother.”

The amber-coloured liquid sloshed around in her glass, nearly spilling out on the fingers she had clutched around it. Tipping it against her lips which were numb and flushed pink from the alcohol, she downed the entire glass. It dropped onto the table next to the envelope that she’d found in the mail and what it contained. A save the date card with photos of her little sister, Veronica, and her fiancé, Tobias. The last time she had seen Tobias’ bright smile and blonde hair, she was still dating his older brother Jasper, intent on marrying him.

“No no no,” Tilly said, her words slightly slurred as she shook her head side to side. “The worst part is that it even happened.”

TWO

“What are you doing?” Kat asked, clearly confused as to why her best friend and roommate was elbow deep in the garbage bin.

Tilly froze and slowly tilted her head until she could see her friend’s outline through the panic-strewn strands of hair. Lifting an arm to brush her hair back, she said, “I’ve been tricked into going to that goddamn wedding so now I have to dig through week old trash to find the invitation.”

With a frustrated sigh, she grasped the edges of the bin and tipped it over, letting the trash roll out onto the marbled tiles.

“Just make sure you wash your hands when you’re done with your meltdown,” Kat sing-songed as she headed back down the hallway.

THREE

Concern fluttered across her features, creasing her brow and pursing her lips as it went. She sat up. “What’s wrong, girl?”

“Okay so I know it was stupid but I kind of told my mom that I had a boyfriend,” Tilly explained, waving the invitation at her friend. She regretted not taking her scarf and coat off before she began the hunt for it because she was absolutely roasting as she stood in the threshold of the living room. “I mean, it was like six months ago and I have told her that we’re still together bu-.”

“Oh my god, Tilly.” Kat’s mouth hung wide open in shock.

“That’s not even the worst part,” she shook her head and glared at the page that she still held between her fingers, like it might bite her at any second. She shook it again. “Veronica invited him with me.”

“But he doesn’t exist.”

“No, he does not,” Tilly agreed.

FOUR

But then she caught sight of tawny skin, vibrant blue eyes and messy brown hair – both of these attached to a familiar face. Nate’s face was contorted in frustration and confusion.

“Oh, hey!” Tilly said, a grin spreading across her face. It quickly dissipated as he released her shoulder and raised his hand to shake a handful of crumpled paper at her.

“What are you doing?”He asked in an indignant voice as  a deep frown set across his face.

Ignoring him, Tilly reached out and grabbed the handful of white printer sheets from him. She had already suspected that what he held was the flyers that she had spent the last thirty minutes hanging up but seeing it confirmed was enough to have her turning her glare towards him.

“What are you doing with these?” She demanded as she attempted to straighten out the wrinkles he had created – pale fingers running over and over every single page as the frustration in her chest grew and grew.

“Do you have any idea how dangerous this is?” He was visibly angry now, cheeks flushing a deep red as he pointed accusingly at her. “How…How stupid?! This isn’t a movie, Matilda. You can’t just put an ad out for a fake boyfriend and expect to attract anyone who isn’t a serial killer.”

“And you can’t just go around taking down people’s flyers like you’re the message board police, Nathaniel,” she snarled before turning back toward the board, intent on finishing what she had came here for.

FIVE

“I’m just nervous, y’know?” She bit her lip and with tears pricking in the corners of her eyes, she finally asked the question that had been weighing on her since she’d agreed to go to this damn wedding. “What if he’s there?”

“Then you punch him square on the jaw, just like I showed you,” Kat raised her hand in the air so that Tilly could see the way she had it clenched, thumb resting over her curled fingers. Tilly could still hear her saying over and over again to ‘never, ever tuck your thumb’ as Kat showed her the proper way to throw a punch with her arm level with her shoulder. “Maybe throw in a kick to the nads for good measure.”

This time when Kat laughed, Tilly laughed with her.

Of course, these are all completely out of context so you’re probably confused if you read it.

The story is about a girl named Matilda (aka Tilly) who hasn’t spoken to her little sister in about three years (for very good reason i.e. she slept with Tilly’s fiance). Suddenly she receives a wedding invitation with a plus one and she freaks out because while she’d been lying to her mother about seeing someone for eight months, she didn’t think her mother would be feeding the lie to the rest of her family as well. In a moment of panic, she prints out an advertisement looking for someone willing to go to Hawaii with her to the wedding and pretend to be her boyfriend. That’s when Nate (Kat’s older brother) steps in and offers to go. They’re obviously going to fall in love while in Hawaii but also lots of ~drama~ is going to happen.

It’s all very cheesy and over the top but I swear, it’s so much fun to write! I can’t wait to finish it.

Leave a Reply

